Call for Papers   ( PDF )

The Asia-Pacific Conferences on Conceptual Modelling provide an annual forum for disseminating the results of innovative research in information modelling and related areas.

The eleventh conference of the series will be held in January 2015 as part of the Australasian Computer Science Week (ACSW 2015), which also includes the following conferences, symposia and workshops:

The Australasian Computer Science Week 2015 will be hosted at the UWS Parramatta Campus in Sydney, Australia.

Registration for APCCM will enable delegates to attend sessions in any conference participating in the Australasian Computer Science Week.

Scope of the Conference

The amount, complexity and diversity of information held in computer systems are constantly on the increase, and so are the requirements and challenges to be met for useful access and manipulation of this information. Conceptual modelling is fundamental to the development of up-to-date information and knowledge-based systems. The conference series aims at bringing together experts from all areas of computer science and information systems with a common interest in the subject.

APCCM invites contributions addressing current research in conceptual modelling as well as experiences, novel applications and future challenges. Topics of interest include, but are not restricted to:

  • Business, enterprise, process and services modelling;
  • Concepts, concept theories and ontologies;
  • Conceptual modelling and user participation;
  • Conceptual modelling for
    • Decision support and expert systems;
    • Digital libraries;
    • E-business, e-commerce and e-banking systems;
    • Health care systems;
    • Knowledge management systems;
    • Mobile information systems;
    • User interfaces; and
    • Web-based systems;
  • Conceptual modelling of semi-structured data and XML;
  • Conceptual modelling of spatial, temporal and biological data;
  • Conceptual modelling quality;
  • Conceptual models for cloud computing applications;
  • Conceptual models for supporting requirement engineering;
  • Conceptual models in management science;
  • Design patterns and object-oriented design;
  • Evolution and change in conceptual models;
  • Implementations of information systems;
  • Information and schema integration;
  • Information customisation and user profiles;
  • Information recognition and information modelling;
  • Information retrieval, analysis, visualisation and prediction;
  • Information systems design methodologies;
  • Knowledge discovery, knowledge representation and knowledge management;
  • Methods for developing, validating and communicating conceptual models;
  • Models for the Semantic Web;
  • Philosophical, mathematical and linguistic foundations of conceptual models;
  • Reuse, reverse engineering and reengineering; and
  • Software engineering and tools for information systems development.

Paper Submission and Publication

APCCM invites papers describing original contributions in all fields of conceptual modelling and related areas. Papers should be no more than 10 pages in length conforming to the formatting instructions as outlined below.

Each paper will be judged on its originality, significance, technical quality, relevance and presentation. The quality of accepted papers is further strengthened by a low acceptance rate of about 30%.

APCCM proceedings will be published by the Australian Computer Society (ACS) in the CRPIT Series. Please note that it is CRPIT policy that at least one author of all accepted papers to the conferences and workshops in the series would both register and present at the event concerned. Failure to do so without a reason acceptable to the organisers of the event will result in the paper being retrospectively withdrawn from both the proceedings and all citation sources.
It is also CRPIT policy that all papers be original and not concurrently submitted elsewhere. Once again, we reserve the right to retrospectively withdraw a paper from the proceedings if we later find this not to be the case.

After the conference, authors of the best papers will be invited to submit an extended version for publication in a joint Special Issue of the Journal of Universal Computer Science (J.UCS).

Formatting Guidelines

The proceedings of this event will be published by the ACS as Volume 1??, Conceptual Modelling 2014 in the CRPIT Series. The formatting requirements and resources for authors can be found on the CRPIT Authors Page together with a list of all upcoming volumes.


Electronic Submission

Submission to APCCM 2015 will be electronically only via EasyChair. The online submission system can be accessed HERE-->

Important Dates

Full Paper Submission: [extended] September 01st, 2014
Author Notification: October 07th, 2014
Camera-ready Paper Submission: October 28th, 2014
Author Registration: November 03rd, 2014
Early-bird Registration: December 01st, 2014
ACSW 2015 Conferences: January 27th -- 30th, 2015

Program Committee Chairs

Motoshi Saeki   (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
Henning Koehler   (Massey University, New Zealand)

Publicity Chairs

Markus Kirchberg   (VISA Inc. & National University of Singapore)

Program Committee Members

João Paulo A. Almeida, Federal University of Espírito Santo, Brazil
Boualem Benatallah, University of New South Wales, Australia
Marko Boškovic, Research Studios Austria
Ross Brown, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Gillian Dobbie, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Flavio Ferrarotti, Victoria University Wellington
Aditya K. Ghose, University of Wollongong, Australia
Georg Grossmann, University of South Australia, Australia
Sven Hartmann, Clausthal University of Technology, Germany
Brian Henderson-Sellers, University of Technology, Australia
Markus Kirchberg, VISA Inc. and National University of Singapore, Singapore
Hiroyuki Kitagawa, Tsukuba University, Japan
Yasushi Kiyoki, Keio University, Japan
Henning Koehler, Massey University, New Zealand
Aneesh Krishna, Curtin University of Technology, Australia
Alberto Laender, University of Minas Gerais, Brazil
Lam-Son Le, University of Wollongong, Australia
Chiang Lee, National Cheng-Kung University, Taiwan
Sebastian Link, University of Auckland, New Zealand
Hui Ma, Victoria University Wellington, New Zealand
Takako Nakatani, Tsukuba University, Japan
Christine Natschläger, Software Competence Center Hagenberg, Austria
Martin Necaský, Charles University, Czech Republic
Wilfred Ng, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Jolita Ralyté, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Jan Recker, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Michael Rosemann, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Motoshi Saeki, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Michael Schrefl, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria
Nigel Stanger, University of Otago, New Zealand
Markus Stumptner, University of South Australia, Australia
Ernest Teniente, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
Riccardo Torlone, Roma Tre University, Italy
Qing Wang, Australian National University, Australia
Eric Yu, University of Toronto, Canada